Open Modal
Open Modal
Faith & Wisdom

The Stations Of The Cross: Meaning, Representation, and Learnings

Reading Time:



Share Article:

You may be curious about the Stations of the Cross if you're just beginning to learn about Christian spirituality — particularly Catholic spirituality.

Many people know that the cross represents Jesus’ crucifixion and that it’s a traditional symbol of Christian faith worldwide.

But what exactly are the Stations of the Cross?

Here's our breakdown of the Stations of the Cross: where they come from, what they represent, and what they mean in our lives today.

What are the Stations of the Cross?

The Stations of the Cross refer to a series of depictions of Christ’s journey. They represent 14 key moments in the trial, crucifixion, and burial of Jesus Christ. Stations of the Cross, or the Way of the Cross, have been celebrated by Roman Catholic believers for centuries, typically right before Easter. 

In addition to churches, you might be able to find them in cemeteries, corridors of hospitals, religious houses, or even on mountainsides.

 a visual of the 14 stations of the cross
14 stations of the cross

The key scenes at each station are:

  • First station: Jesus is condemned to death
  • Second station: Jesus is forced to carry His cross
  • Third station: Jesus falls the first time
  • Fourth station: Jesus meets His mother
  • Fifth station: Simon of Cyrene is made to carry the cross
  • Sixth station: Veronica wipes Jesus’ face
  • Seventh station: Jesus falls the second time
  • Eighth station: The women of Jerusalem weep over Jesus
  • Ninth station: Jesus falls the third time
  • Tenth station: Jesus is stripped of His garments
  • Eleventh station: Jesus is nailed to the cross
  • Twelfth station: Jesus dies on the cross
  • Thirteenth station: Jesus is taken down from the cross
  • Fourteenth station: Jesus is placed in the sepulcher

As part of the ritual at each station, there are specific prayers performed together by the priest and the church's congregants. Although you can find Stations of the Cross depictions in different religious denominations, the Catholic church is the institution largely devoted to the practice.  

No items found.

What is the history of the Stations of the Cross?

No items found.

Even though the Stations of the Cross seem simple, they have a long and rich history. 

In ancient times, the Blessed Mother is believed to have visited the scenes of Christ's passion daily after his ascension into heaven. However, it wasn't until 313 AD that Constantine officially legalized Christianity and marked key locations along Jesus' journey.  

Originally, pilgrims in the fourth century visited the historical sites of the events of Christ's death and walked the path believed to be from Pilate's house to Christ's tomb to pray at each station. 

The Franciscans began guarding the sacred stations in the Holy Land in 1342, protecting them against harm and ruin. 

Those who traveled to the sites received indulgences for praying at the following stations: Pilate’s house, where Christ met His mother, where He spoke to the women, where He met Simon of Cyrene, where the soldiers stripped Him of His garments, where He was nailed to the cross, and at His tomb.

Station one in Dolorosa Jerusalem
Station one in Dolorosa Jerusalem

But it was not until the 16th century that this pathway was officially named the Via Dolorosa, translated to Sorrowful Path, or as we know it today, the Way of the Cross or Stations of the Cross.

Leonard of Port Maurice, a Franciscan of the Riformella, established what we know today as the 14 Stations of the Cross.

At the end of the 17th century, the erection of the stations in churches grew in popularity. Aware that only a few people could travel to the Holy Land because of Muslim oppression, Pope Innocent XI granted the Franciscans the right to build shrines inside their churches and granted the faithful the same indulgences.

While there have been changes to the Stations of the Cross throughout past centuries, the fundamentals have remained the same.

What do the Stations of the Cross mean to us today?

No items found.

In modern times, Catholics conduct the Stations of the Cross ritual during Lent or Good Friday. By doing so, they strive to understand the sacrifice of Jesus Christ to more fully appreciate His resurrection on Easter Sunday.

The Stations of the Cross are typically associated with Catholicism, but some Protestant churches also participate in this ritual or a modified version of the practice. 

Although certain denominations may not agree with all parts of the Stations of the Cross, there are truths that any believer can glean from this practice, reminding us of Jesus’ death and sacrifice to save us from sin and bring redemption to the people of the world.

people inside a church at one of the stations of the cross
People inside a church at one of the stations of the cross

For Catholics, the Stations of the Cross are a 14-step devotion that they commonly use as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. The ritual is designed to imitate how pilgrims performed the actual journey through the Holy Land centuries ago.  

At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. The individual recites each prayer at a particular station and moves on to the next one until all 14 are complete.

It’s also traditional to stop at each station and say the prayer: “We adore you, O Christ, and praise you. Because by your holy cross you have redeemed the world.” 

Christians can use this ritual or similar ones today to reflect on Christ's death and resurrection and its impact on us even now.

We adore you, O Christ

The observance of the Stations of the Cross is an ancient tradition that still holds meaning to Christians centuries later.

While simply observing the Stations of the Cross is not equivalent to participating in Christ's suffering, they can serve a spiritual purpose. Jesus Christ's journey to the cross reminds us just how much He sacrificed for us and what a miracle His resurrection has been.

By intentionally spending time with Christ by stopping at each station and taking time to think, pray, and meditate, we have the opportunity to thank Him, praise Him, and learn from Him.

We all should remember that the stations are not so much about the ritual prayers or how they are placed, but rather about recalling and drawing near to Jesus' love, sacrifice, and forgiveness.

For more on the Stations of the Cross, Easter, Good Friday, and how to draw closer to God, download the app in the iOS App Store or Google Play

No items found.

No items found.
Bring Godly Wisdom into Your Week
Sign up for a free PRAY account and you’ll begin receiving our Weekly Wisdom Devotionals, sent to your inbox every Tuesday.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Download for daily Bible verses

Receive the Daily Devotional, Share prayers with others, and more on the app.
Download now on


No items found.

No items found.

No items found.

Join millions who pray daily with

4.7 Stars
Average rating on iOS
67.4K Ratings
67.4K Ratings
Across all platforms

Download now on

Try PRAY Premium FREE when you download the app.